So long, CMLACMU!

For the past three years, I have been a part of an organization that I has brought me into the world of Middle Level Education and a family that I will forever be a part of. For the past two years, I was fortunate enough to be on the executive board as Public Relations Director. When I was elected into this position, the main focus of this position was to video record all meetings and distribute them to members who were unable to attend that week’s meeting. When I leave this position after these past two years, I am proud to see how much it has grown.

Social media. Social media is something I have come to love and use on the daily. It is a quick and affective way to keep in touch with others and stay up to date on topics you care about. For all of these reasons and more, I embraced the word of social media as the PR for CMLACMU. 

 

Twitter is something that was definitely utilized during my time as PR for CMLACMU. Many schools, principals, teachers, and well-known middle level educators use twitter. With this position, I made it my mission to connect to as many as possible. When we took our organization to conferences in places such as, Minneapolis, Nashville, and places around the state of Michigan – we got our name out there by connecting with AMLE and MAMSE board members, speakers, and presenters of these conferences. WIth this, we were able to welcome many memorable people to Mount Pleasant and introduce them and their ideas to the university.

One of these memorable people that came to CMU was Jack Berckemeyer.     He is a well-known past educator that has become an inspirational speaker that gets teachers motivated to teach the past age group there is. He spoke for our organization last March and left a lasting impression on our members and our university of how important middle level education is!

This position has been my project for the past two years. I am so sad to leave it behind, but I know I am leaving it in good hands. I am excited to see where it goes from here on out. It is just so exciting to see something that started from almost nothing to something that has improved an organization you love and care about so much. I really enjoyed being able to reach out to others as this organization and I have been able to learn more and more about incorporating technology into different aspects of life – including the classroom!

